Tags

, ,

Hi, I’m Alexander Fierro. I’m a recent Wonder Child project graduate. You may have read the account of my childhood my Mom and my sister Leah wrote. Right after my birthday I got this letter:

Date: February 11th, 21XX

Location: The City of Glassbolt

Program: The Apocalypse Challenge

Project: RRR (Phase 2)

Briefing

Greetings citizen. No doubt you have heard of the devastation. Much of the media reports coming out of the City of Glassbolt has been white washed to gloss over what happened there. We know that approximately 5 minutes after half time of the super bowl, the nuclear power plant of Glassbolt melted down, devastating the entire region. The army core of engineers cites that a simultaneous flush of every toilet in the city caused a massive drop in water pressure, thus causing the plant to lose coolant and melt down. This isn’t your ordinary meltdown. That plant was experimental! The fallout is causing strange and odd problems in the region and we have very little detail about what is going on in there.

What we DO know is that we need a leader, a hero to willingly go in there, establish themselves in the region and help restore the region back to normal. We have one other bit of declassified information. This actually happened 20 years ago. We’ve lost contact with the region. You, citizen, have graduated from our Wonder Child project. You were specially created to be able to solve these issues. So get in there and show us what you are made of! The lost city of Glassbolt is depending on you!

So here I was alone on an empty lot in the desert. I used to mischievously describe the apocalypse to my friends, now I’m living it.

03-14-15_7-28 PM-2

The first thing to do was get a job. I think if I can become an oracle I’d be able to lure fellow Wonder Child Project graduates to the city so I’m going to enter the Criminal Career. Because of my connections started out as a Felonious Monk.

03-14-15_7-29 PM

I do have some money and it’s a Sunday and supplies are available so I can build myself a house according to the limitations of living in Glassbolt. I have all the basics but it isn’t very pretty.

03-14-15_7-32 PM

03-14-15_7-32 PM-2

03-14-15_7-32 PM-3

03-14-15_7-32 PM-4

My job wasn’t going to start until Tuesday night so I took the time to make some friends.

03-14-15_7-33 PM

03-14-15_7-42 PM-2

And pick their pockets for a little cash.

03-14-15_7-47 PM

I also built a rocket ship. It’s a lot of fun and I may not be able to afford it later.

03-14-15_7-48 PM

When I was a kid my mom used to tease me about catching my own supper. Now I have to.

03-14-15_8-04 PM

My first week in Glassbolt is over. I’ve been promoted to DigiThief. I’ve still got a ways to go but it’s a fine start.

03-14-15_9-48 PM

